Home Page    Awards    Schedules/Results    All-Academic    Weekly Performers    Standings    Statistics   
 Liberty League Homepage 

 Liberty League Scoreboard 

  2009-10 Archives 
  2008-09 Archives 
  2007-08 Archives 
  2006-07 Archives 
  2005-06 Archives 
  2004-05 Archives 
  2003-04 Archives 


2010 Men's Soccer Awards
The 2010 Liberty League End-of-Season Awards, announced November 4.

2010 Liberty League Offensive Player of the Year
Brendan Gorman   St. Lawrence
Junior Forward (Ottawa, Ontario)
The Liberty League Rookie of the Year as a freshman and first team All League, 1st team All ECAC and Regional All America as a sophomore, Gorman was twice Liberty League Offensive Player of the Week as a junior. He ranks fourth in the league in both goals (7) and points (19).

2010 Liberty League Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Alex Penny   Rensselaer
Senior Goalkeeper (Northport, New York)
Penny backstopped RPI to a league-best 10 shutouts for the second straight year. He also helped an Engineers defense which leads the conference in fewest shots allowed and is second in a number of defensive categories, including goals against average and fewest points allowed.

2010 Liberty League Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Zander Mrlik   Vassar
Sophomore Defense (San Francisco, California)
Mrlik scored two of his three goals in league play to tie for the fourth best output in the Liberty League. He led a Vassar defense that allowed just 17 goals on the season and posted seven shutouts.

2010 Liberty League Rookie of the Year
Leo Nizzi   Hamilton
Midfield (Frankfort, New York)
A three-time Liberty League Rookie of the Week in 2010, Nizzi set a program record for most assists in a season with eight. His assist total leads the Liberty League, as does his 0.53 assists per game average.

2010 Liberty League Coaching Staff of the Year
Bob Durocher   St. Lawrence
Durocher led his Saints to an unbeaten Liberty League season at 6-0-1 and the Saints finished the year ranked second in the region and 15th nationally. The Saints take a 15-game unbeaten streak into the Liberty League championship. Durocher won his 250th game during the current season. He is assisted by Charlie Bour and Willi Steinrotter.

2010 Liberty League First Team
F Jesse Arroyave Hamilton SR North Bergen, NJ
F Brendan Gorman St. Lawrence JR Ottawa, Ontario
F Sebastian Jansen Union SO Cape Town, South Africa
F Marc Zeyak Union JR Valatie, NY
M Frank Campagnano Hamilton JR Guilderland, NY
M Sam DeMello St. Lawrence SO Easthampton, MA
M Ben Poser Rensselaer SR Scotts Valley, CA
M Craig Santangelo Union JR Sayville, NY
M Adam Updegrove Rensselaer SO Carson City, NV
D Nicky Hoberman Union SR Westport, CT
D Zander Mrlik Vassar SO San Francisco, CA
G Alex Penny Rensselaer SR Northport, NY
2010 Liberty League Second Team
F Anthony Balbo Hamilton SO Poughkeepsie, NY
F Matt Kelsey Skidmore SR Cambridge, MA
F Kevin McCarthy Hobart SR Seaville, NJ
M Ross Macklin Vassar JR Henniker, NH
M Mark Secko Clarkson SR Shoreham, NY
M Doug Yeates Skidmore SR Richmond, VT
D Mike Manfredi St. Lawrence JR Unionville, CT
D Brad Shelofsky Rensselaer JR Rochester, NY
D James Stewart St. Lawrence SR St. Davids, Ontario
G Nate Goss-Woliner St. Lawrence SO Waitsfield, VT

Honorable Mention: Blake Adams M (Rensselaer), Chris Choquette M (Union), Justin Dotzman D (Hobart), Evan Grey M (Hobart), Charlie Hale G (Hobart), Kurt Knolle M (Clarkson), Matt Konecnik D (Clarkson), Adam Marguiles G (Union), Dan Marvin F (St. Lawrence), Leo Nizzi M (Hamilton), Lukas Petersen D (Hobart), Sean Scott F (St. Lawrence), Andrew Tambasco F (Rensselaer), Dan Tempest D (Hamilton)

Clarkson - Hamilton - Hobart - Rensselaer - Rochester - St. Lawrence - Skidmore - Union - Vassar - William Smith - Merchant Marine - WPI

11724147 Pages Accessed Since August 27, 2003